Coordinated Incident Response Management (CIMS) – Level 2



The Introduction to CIMS (CIMS 2) course is recommended for
all personnel involved in any aspect of emergency response. The
Coordinated Incident Management System (CIMS) provides the
model or structure for the command, control and coordination
response to an emergency incident, as such all personnel
should have a basic understanding of the principles of CIMS, its
terminology and key functional areas.

CIMS is applicable across all types of emergency incidents from
a car crash, earthquake, major flooding event, rural fire, influenza outbreak or avalanche rescue.

CIMS 2, so called as the NZQA Unit Standard is at level 2, forms a component of many qualifications in the emergency management and related sectors

Course Objectives

The overall objective of the Introduction to CIMS (CIMS 2) course is to instill an understanding of the principles, structure and operation of the coordinated incident management system.

By the end of this course you should be able to;

  • Demonstrate knowledge of the principles of CIMS
  • Demonstrate an understanding of the key functional areas of CIMS
  • Apply measures to control the movement of people and vehicles at incidents.

Participants who successfully complete all aspects of the course
and meet the entry criteria will gain NZQA Unit 17279 Demonstrate
knowledge of the Coordinated Incident Management System (CIMS).

Course Outline

Consists of the practical component of the course which is usually delivered over four-six hours.

The workshop is interactive, encourages students to ask questions and clarify issues and/or knowledge. Successful completion of the course will provide attendees with all of the information and assessment requirements to gain NZQA Unit Standard 17279.

Fill in the form below or alternatively you can free call 0508 69 78 78 or email

For 10 or more participants, NZ Survivor will have a trainer come to your workplace.

  • if required
SKU: N/A Categories: ,


One Day

Attendance Numbers:
Minimum: 10
Maximum: 15

NZQA Unit Standard

Demonstrate knowledge of
the Coordinated Incident
Management System (CIMS)